top of page

Real Life Drama: I Panicked and Just Wore a Costume to the Audition


Common theatrical wisdom holds that one’s audition garb should merely hint at the character or time period in which the piece is set. Perhaps a longer skirt for a period piece or a quirky pair of overalls for a children’s show. There’s no question that one’s clothing has an effect on how the auditors see you. But what about how you see yourself? This week, I found that out firsthand when I accidentally wore a whole costume to my Audition for Christmas At Pemberley.

It started out innocently enough. First, I put on my longest skirt and went to the bathroom to curl my hair. While curling, disaster struck, when I burned my neck with my curling wand. Elizabeth Bennet Darcy, Lady of Pemberly, would NEVER have anything resembling a hickey on her neck, so I knew something had to be done. High necked shirt to the rescue! Time was running short and I’d only finished curling half my hair. I swept it into an updo and ran for the subway, grabbing my LaDuca Can-Can booties on my way out the door.

When I emerged from the A train onto Eighth Avenue, a man yelled at me from the corner, “Hey pretty old-timey baby, did you just walk out of Colonial Williamsburg and into my heart?” I wasn’t sure what he meant, but I kept on walking into the lobby of Ripley-Grier.

After checking in with the monitor, I took a moment to center myself. Despite the day’s setbacks I had made it ontime! I was just getting focused when out of the corner of my eye I saw what could only be the ghost of haggard 1870’s Governess! Was this the famed Ripley Ghost, said to haunt generations of auditioners??

The next moment, I was even more horrified to discover....the ghost was me! I was merely looking in a mirror at the full costume I had accidentally assembled in my panicked state. What would the auditors think of me now??

Luckily, the repercussions were minimal. As I stood in line with my fellow auditioners, I noticed something strange. Each of the women was dressed just like me! As if we had planned it. Rules be damned--I guess we just wear costumes now! Can’t wait for the Grinch call next week!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page