top of page

The Undateables: Open Call Edition

Each week, we take two actors who swear they’re totally undateable, and send them on an audition together. Afterward, we find out who got cast, and who’s getting cast off!

Why they're single:

Penny: She’s busy auditioning and has a hard time meeting other single people. Lucas: He has too many options! Every time he books a gig, he fucks the whole ensemble. Ideal date: Penny: Going to a One on One class together and signing with the same agent Lucas: Her watching me practice my Dear Evan Hansen callback song THE DATE First impression Penny: “I got to Ripley at 4:30 to sign the list. The Hackstage listing said were separating men and women today so I wanted to make sure I would get seen. I knew he’d be coming later so I used the time to put on my make up, curl my hair and yell at myself in the mirror.”

Lucas: “It was an early morning. I got up at eight and only had time for coffee before arriving at Pearl by nine. When I finally met her, the first thing I thought was that she doesn’t really look like her headshot.” Chemistry Penny: He was the only man in the studio so there wasn't a lot to compare him to, but he seemed very knowledgeable about the audition process. He suggested I sing “Defying Gravity” which is definitely out of my range, but it was still fun to try something new! Lucas: I wouldn’t say there was romantic chemistry, but I did give her some audition pointers and she seemed appreciative. Awkward Moment Penny: They ended up typing the women and even though I had done the show before I got typed out. It was a little awkward when I started weeping into my jewel tone dress. I think it was mostly from sleep deprivation, but it was embarrassing. Lucas: They gave me an offer in the room. She thought it was a joke when I told her. It wasn’t. Afterward Penny: I was starving after such an emotional roller coaster, so I asked if he wanted to have a sandwich in Butch’s Oasis Cafe.

Lucas: I’m not eating bread right now, so I just watched her eat an egg salad sandwich. After that, I gave her my website and told her she could reach me through the “Contact Lucas” page Verdict Penny: ♥♥♥♥ I would definitely go to another open call with him again. His drive is really impressive and the free coaching session was awesome and not at all annoying.

Lucas: ♥♥ I had a good time, but I didn’t get why she was crying. Also, I’m about to leave on a contract now, so I don’t really want anything serious. Our daters went to Sprigg Lake Theater’s Open Call for Rent. Lucas will be starring as Roger Davis in the production this spring.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page