top of page

Five Audition Outfits that Don't Accidentally Support Donald J. Trump

BREAKING: Your Ivanka pumps (though the perfect shade of nude) are officially CURSED. You'll never be Equity in them! That wrap dress that you found in the basement of Century 21? You don't stand a chance of hitting your High C in that! And good luck making it through that "mover" call--those tights you bought at Dillards were touching an Ivanka product right before you bought them.

So take them off!

NOW.

Are they off? Good!

Time to get shopping! Start looking for something that says, "I am a musical theater goddess" AND "I am a conscientious consumer." Stumped on where to shop in this minefield of Trump-supporting fashion dumpsters? Here are some fashion-forward and audition-friendly looks from stores that don't carry the Trump brand. #Grabyourwallet, ladies!

1. Neiman Marcus

"I am a blank slate... literally"

(A cool option for when you didn't read the play/don't know what your auditioning for!)

2. Nordstrom

"I am totally willing to grapple with your experimental piece, roll on the floor, and trip with you after rehearsal."

(hint: don't wear this for paying job auditions)

3. Shop Style

"I can still play Amaryllis, I swear! Or will gladly understudy the Sound of Music kids!"

(Pro tip: skip the adult EPA, wait for the children's open call!)

4. Belk

"I will not be attending the dance call... also, I only play leads."

(Cool replacement for the pumps you just burned!)

5. Gilt

"I would fit in in Hell, or a cruise ship, or Kinky Boots. You decide."

(This is a GREAT option for a full season audition)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page