top of page

How to Cry on Command

Find a great breakdown that really excites you? Uh Oh, what's that at the bottom of the character description? "Must be able to cry on command." What are you going to do?!? Every time you try to prepare for a crying scene you just stand by the dumpster near the elevator and feel bad about yourself but not bad enough to cry!

But fear not Hackstagers! We discussed crying-on-command techniques with some of the best acting teachers in the biz and here are our favorite suggestions. Happy Sobbing!

  1. Watch the Windows commercial with the Christmas Carols and the forgiveness.

  1. Say “Good Morning” to the meanest bus driver on your route and leave yourself psychologically open to the ensuing abuse.

  1. Read this passage from the Fault in Our Stars:

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There's .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that. There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I'm likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for Augustus Waters than he got. But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn't trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I'm grateful.”

  1. Pictures of animals with wheels for legs

  1. Watch any Carrie Underwood music video that deals with the death of a soldier.

​​

  1. Look at that picture that Beth posted when she had that walk on role in Shades of Blue. She doesn’t look anything like JLo's sister what were they thinking. Ugh seriously fuck Beth.

  1. Break up with your boyfriend before every audition: If he supports your art, he will understand. There are some journeys you must take on your own.

  1. Try Acting.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page