top of page

Student Actress Too Moved By Her Own Performance To Continue Scene


A REHEARSAL STUDIO, NYC Overwhelmed by her ability to connect with a character Leah McElwain, a 2nd semester student at the Molt Henderson Studio for Actors, had to interrupt her scene partner mid-sentence to reflect on how well the scene was going. “If I am being honest” stated Leah “I am always very emotionally available. But this was a whole new level” said McElwain, still sniffling slightly several hours after the class had ended.

The patented Molt Henderson Method combines the most brutal and insulting aspects of the Meisner, Strasberg, Adler, and Grotowski methods in order to allow students to tap into their deep reservoirs of emotion and gaping pits of insecurity. McElwain attributes her emotional fireworks to both the revolutionary MH method and her deep connection with the character of Harper, from Tony Kushner’s Angels in America, remarking, “I’ve never been trapped a loveless marriage to a closeted gay man, but my boyfriend in high school once told me I was ‘a solid 7 on a good day’ so I know what it is to feel that kind of disconnect from someone you love”

Concerns about safety also factored into McElwain’s decision to bring the scene to a screeching halt. Added McElwain, “Who knows what I would have done to my scene partner. Plus, I sweat so much when I cry that hard.”

“She does sweat a lot” reported Luis Wenderville, adding that he only had to be Leah’s scene partner through the end of January, “I guess I don’t mind the sweating, but she usually stops before I can say my lines. Also once she stepped on my foot.”

At press time, McElwain was purchasing waterproof mascara, and scheduling a student-teacher conference to discuss the profound effect that “the work” can have on one’s soul. In regards to her next project, McElwain released a statement on Facebook, saying, “I’m thrilled to announce that I’ve been cast as Anya, an incredible Polish concentration camp prisoner. This might be my favorite role yet, but living through the Holocaust every night is going to take a real toll!”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page