top of page

#IWasNotCast with Hackstage: Alexa Cowan


Sometimes things don’t work exactly as planned. That’s exactly what happened when Hackstager Alexa Cowan woke up last Tuesday and realized she had missed her alarm! “I set my alarm for 5:45 am, which I knew was pushing it in the first place,” remembers Cowan, “but this was going to be my third open call this week, so I wanted to treat myself to an extra 20 minutes of rest.”

But as the old saying goes, the early bird gets the worm. Despite her initial excitement about the production of The Sound of Music at Livermill Dinner Theater, Cowan didn’t rouse herself from bed until 5:52 and finally left her apartment at the disastrously late time of 6:01. By the time she arrived at Ripley Grier Studios in Midtown, the list was already at 273!

“I was still optimistic, because I am woefully underemployed and had nothing to do that day, so I had no problem waiting around until after lunch” said Cowan with a rueful smile, “but by the time I got into the room, it was pretty clear that they were over it. The accompanist actually sighed when I showed him my sheet music.”

After hearing a brief “thank you” from behind the table that had all the undertones of a “NEXT,” Cowan left the studio and got herself a manicure “as a reward for doing something for her career that day.”

Better luck next time Alexa!

Got a story to share? Tweet #iwasnotcast @Hackstage101 to see your failure featured here!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page